Aena to approve the terms and conditions for the Handling Tender today

Iberia connected to Airbridge at Madrid airport shot from terminal / José Masot informed on Tuesday that the agenda of the session of the Governing Board for today includes the publication of the terms and conditions for the handling tender.

In the last weeks Aena has distributed amongst the operators a draft with these terms and conditions for the handling tender in order to have their feedback. In principle, all operators agree that the fees are too high, but Aena reminded that these prices are always adjusted in the final terms and conditions.

The main cost of the handling comes from the staff (70%), which is subrogated no matter who is awarded the license. According to this piece of news, Acciona, Menzies and Iberia would have confirmed to them that they will place a bid for every airport.

The information from elEconomista indicates that Javier Marín, General Director for Aena, said that the terms and conditions published today will consider 22 airports divided into 3 groups, depending on the locations. The operators would have 3 months to place their bids.

Distribution of the handling licenses
As far as we understand, the Handling licenses will be distributed as follows:

Every airport will be granted either one, two or three licenses depending on its traffic (passengers and cargo). Hence, the tender will consist of 51 ramp handling licenses to be awarded in two phases.

First phase
The terms and conditions for this phase are the ones expected today. It should consist of 8 licenses:

Zaragoza and Vitoria: One license at each airport for cargo only. The licenses for passengers at these airports are detailed below. Total 2 licenses.

A CoruñaAlbaceteAlmeríaBadajozBurgosCórdobaGranada-JaénHuescaJerezLeónLogroñoMelilla,MurciaPamplonaSalamancaSan SebastiánSantanderValladolidVigoZaragoza and Vitoria: These airports will be spread in 3 groups depending on the airport location. Each group will have a license.

La Palma: 1 license.

La Gomera and Hierro: 1 shared license.

Ceuta and Algeciras: 1 shared license.

Second phase
After the above, the handling operators will be invited to a second phase to distribute 43 licenses:
MadridBarcelonaMálagaAlicante and Palma de Mallorca: There will be 3 licenses at each airport. Total 15 licenses.

AsturiasBilbaoFuerteventuraGironaIbizaLanzaroteMenorcaTenerife SouthTenerife NorthReus,Santiago de CompostelaSevilleValencia and Gran Canaria: To get 2 licenses per airport. Total 28 licenses.